Monday, April 21, 2014

Teach In Florida

Florida's Educator Preparation Institutes

Educator Preparation Institutes (EPIs) are specialized teacher training programs that may be offered at any accredited Florida community college, university or private college. Colleges may create an EPI to provide any or all of the following types of training:

  • Professional development opportunities to assist teachers in improving classroom instruction and in meeting certification requirements
  • Instruction to assist potential and existing substitute teachers in performing their duties
  • Instruction to assist paraprofessionals in meeting education and training requirements
  • Instruction for baccalaureate degree holders to become certified teachers through competency-based alternative certification programs.

Each of the Florida colleges below has an EPI approved for the types of training listed beside the institution. Four-year institutions also offer bachelor’s and advanced degree programs in many areas of education that are not included in the institution’s EPI. You may contact the institution(s) directly for more information.

  
EPI Comparison Chart

 

Institution Contact Name Phone Number Email Address EPI Training Offered
        Professional
Development
Substitute
Teaching
Paraprofessional
Training
Alternative
Certification
Broward College

Yolima Cueto

954-201-7979

education@broward.edu

X X X X
*Chipola College Dr. Lou Cleveland 850-718-2416 clevelandl@chipola.edu     X X
*Daytona State College Ana Blaine 386-506-3188 BlaineA@daytonastate.edu       X
Florida Atlantic University Barbara Ridener 561-297-0075 bridener@fau.edu X      
Florida Gateway College Pam Carswell 386-754-4266 pamela.carswell@fgc.edu X X X X
Florida Gulf Coast University Dr. Diane Schmidt
239-590-7741 dschmidt@fgcu.edu       X
Gulf Coast State College Dr. Patricia Schenck 850-873-3577
pschenck@gulfcoast.edu       X
Hillsborough Community College Dr. Mary Ann Ratliff 813-253-7983 mratliff@hccfl.edu X     X

Indian River State College

Kelly Amatucci 772-462-7713 kamatucc@irsc.edu X X X X
Lake Sumter State College Dr. Joanne Greata
352-435-5048 greataj@lscc.edu X   X X
Miami Dade College

Dr. Shanika Taylor

Susan Neimand

305-237-6203

305-237-6152

staylor1@mdc.edu

sneimand@mdc.edu

X X X X
Palm Beach State College Jennifer Germano
561-868-3872 germanoj@palmbeachstate.edu X X X X
Pasco-Hernando Community College Carol Jones 727-816-3714

jonesc@phcc.edu

X X X X
Pensacola State College

Mary Louise Winter

Brenda K. Kelly

850-484-1984

850-471-4627

mlwinter@pensacolastate.edu

bkelly@pensacolastate.edu

X X X X
Polk State College Beverly Woolery 863-292-3642 bwoolery@polk.edu X X X X
Santa Fe College Tyran Butler 352-395-5350 tyran.butler@sfcollege.edu X X X X
Seminole State College Dr. Gina Fontana 407-708-2673 fontanag@seminolestate.edu  X     X
St. Johns River State College

Myrna Allen

386-312-4242

MyrnaAllen@sjrstate.edu

X
X   X

*St. Petersburg College

Michael Poulin

727-791-2788 Poulin.Michael@spcollege.edu X   X X

State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota

Araceli Cumbo

Susan Sheffield

941-408-1481

941-363-7274

cumboa@scf.edu

sheffis@scf.edu

X X X X

Teacher Education University

Charlotte Lugering 407-628-6272 clugering@teu.edu       X

*University of Florida

Dr. Theresa Vernetson 352-273-4376 tbv@coe.ufl.edu       X
University of North Florida

Betty Bennett

904-620-1823 bbennett@unf.edu       X
University of West Florida Sarah Miller
850-432-7051 Sarah.Miller@studereducation.com       X
Valencia College

Dr. Rhonda Atkinson

Donna Deitrick

407-582-1220

407-582-5474

ratkinson3@valenciacollege.edu

 ddeitrick@valenciacollege.edu

X X X X

*EPI teacher preparation for alternative certification is based on a credit model at Chipola College, Daytona State College, St. Petersburg College, and University of Florida.

  
Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  Login
Site developed by Teachers-Teachers.com