Friday, May 06, 2016

Teach In Florida

Florida's Educator Preparation Institutes

Educator Preparation Institutes (EPIs) are specialized teacher training programs that may be offered at any accredited Florida college, university or private institution of higher education. Colleges may create an EPI to provide any or all of the following types of training:

  • Professional development opportunities to assist teachers in improving classroom instruction and in meeting certification requirements
  • Instruction to assist potential and existing substitute teachers in performing their duties
  • Instruction to assist paraprofessionals in meeting education and training requirements
  • Instruction for baccalaureate degree holders to become certified teachers through competency-based alternative certification programs.

 

  
EPI Comparison Chart

 

Institution Contact Name Phone Number Email Address EPI Training Offered
        Professional
Development
Substitute
Teaching
Paraprofessional
Training
Alternative
Certification
Broward College

Dr. Jeffrey Masse

954-201-2234

jmasse@broward.edu

X X X X
*Chipola College Dr. Pamela Rentz 850-718-2416 Rentzp@Chipola.edu     X X
*Daytona State College Ana Blaine 386-506-3188 ana.blaine@daytonastate.edu       X
Florida Gateway College Pam Carswell 386-754-4266 pamela.carswell@fgc.edu X X X X
Florida Gulf Coast University Dr. Charles Wang 239-590-1162 xxwang@fgcu.edu       X
Gulf Coast State College Dr. Patricia Schneck 850-873-3577
pschneck@gulfcoast.edu       X
Hillsborough Community College Dr. Mary Ann Ratliff 813-253-7983 mratliff@hccfl.edu X     X

Indian River State College

Cressa Zajac 772-462-7427 czajac@irsc.edu X X X X
Miami Dade College

Dr. Shanika Taylor

Dr. Susan Neimand

305-237-6188

305-237-6152

staylor1@mdc.edu

sneimand@mdc.edu

X X X X
Palm Beach State College

Jennifer Johnson

Kim Allen

561-868-3872

561-868-4049

johnsoj1@palmbeachstate.edu

allenk@palmbeachstate.edu

X X X X
Pasco-Hernando State College Dr. Melissa Burr 727-816-3471

burrme@phsc.edu

X X X X
Pensacola State College

Mary Louise Winter

Brenda K. Kelly

850-484-1984

850-471-4627

mlwinter@pensacolastate.edu

bkelly@pensacolastate.edu

X X X X
Polk State College Beverly Woolery 863-292-3642 bwoolery@polk.edu X X X X
Santa Fe College Dr. Tyran Butler 352-395-5350 tyran.butler@sfcollege.edu X X X X
Seminole State College Dr. Gina Fontana 407-708-2673 fontanag@seminolestate.edu  X     X
St. Johns River State College

Dr. Myrna Allen

 

386-312-4242

MyrnaAllen@sjrstate.edu

X
X   X

 

*St. Petersburg College

Michael Poulin

727-791-2788 Poulin.Michael@spcollege.edu X   X X

State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota

Araceli Cumbo

 

941-408-1481

cumboa@scf.edu

 

X X X X

Teacher Education University

Charlotte Lugering 407-628-6272 clugering@teu.edu       X

*University of Florida

Nancy Waldron 352-273-4376 waldron@coe.ufl.edu       X
University of North Florida

Dr. Betty Bennett

904-620-1823 bbennett@unf.edu       X
University of West Florida Julie Kunselman 850-898-3880 julie.kunselman@studereducation.com       X
Valencia College

Dr. Rhonda Atkinson

Donna Deitrick

407-582-1220

407-582-5474

ratkinson3@valenciacollege.edu

ddeitrick@valenciacollege.edu

X X X X

*EPI teacher preparation for alternative certification is based on a credit model at Chipola College, Daytona State College, St. Petersburg College, and University of Florida.

  
Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  Login
Site developed by Teachers-Teachers.com